Tags

, , , , , , ,

I used to fall asleep every night to Eminem’s Lose Yourself and Sing for the Moment on repeat, drowning out the nighttime noise through a coveted pair of headphones as I skipped back and forth on my CD player. I can still remember many of my preteen years, spent with those headphones strategically placed against my resting head, replaying my two favorite songs until I finally dozed into unconsciousness.

Music was my refuge. I could crawl into the space between the notes and curl my back to loneliness. ~Maya Angelou, Gather Together in My Name

Music has so many different purposes. Music expresses, music disguises, music understands, relates.

A painter paints pictures on canvas. But musicians paint their pictures on silence. ~Leopold Stokowski

There are few things in life that will never let you down. A rhythmic, raspy voice. The melodic risings and fallings of vivid instrumentals. The feeling of wind against your face and pressing against your body. The gentle shove of a cat’s cold nose.

The function of music is to release from the tyranny of conscious thought. -Sir Thomas Beecham

I’m not really sure what the point of this post is, but to share with you the lyrics to escape with me tonight. It’s the sort of night that, when I close my eyes, darkness invades my line of vision and I’m constantly “kicking shadows on the street for every mistake that I’ve made” and [counting] webs from all the spiders…”

Here’s a couple goodies that I can’t seem to get out of my head tonight. Only three or five of many.

In case technology fails and the embeds don’t load for you, here are the lyrics playing on repeat in my head tonight:

{Sing for the Moment, Eminem; Lose Yourself, Eminem; Thinking of You, Ed Sheeran; Don’t, Ed Sheeran; Hate Me Today, Blue October; I Miss You, blink-182}

