Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

You probably gathered from my last post that I am a wee bit Garth Brooks obsessed. I was raised on 80s music (namely Madonna, Chicago & Journey) from one paternal influence and Garth Brooks from the other. Though we differ quite significantly on political beliefs (he is a bit right-wing for my taste, especially in songs like American Honky Tonk Bar Association), I love, love, love (practically) everything he sings, and many of his songs move me to tears, elated states, or peaceful mindsets.

The Dance has always been one of those songs that hit all three of those. A great song, celebrating a no-regrets attitude, The Dance elicits pain, hope, and power, all crammed into three or four minutes.

Looking back on the memory of
The dance we shared ‘neath the stars above
For a moment all the world was right
How could I have known that you’d ever say goodbye?

And now I’m glad I didn’t know
The way it all would end, the way it all would go
Our lives are better left to chance
I could have missed the pain, but I’d have had to miss the dance

Holding you, I held everything
For a moment, wasn’t I a king?
But if I’d only known how the king would fall
Hey, who’s to say? You know I might have changed it all

And now I’m glad I didn’t know
The way it all would end, the way it all would go
Our lives are better left to chance
I could have missed the pain, but I’d have had to miss the dance

Yes my life is better left to chance
I could have missed the pain, but I’d have had to miss the dance
The dance

As if the song wasn’t powerful enough, Garth Brooks had to go and bring tears to my eyes for a completely different reason. A cancer fighter, bearing a sign claiming “Chemo this morning, Garth tonight, enjoying The Dance,” took a front row seat to Garth’s moving performance as he serenaded her from the stage, planting a concerned kiss on her forehead and instilling a hope in the entire audience that was enough to bring the most stoic individual to tears. Well, as long as you have working tear ducts.

gbsign

Garth’s ushers brought the cancer fighter to the front and center of the audience, toting her sign and a smile. Garth sat down alongside the stage and held her hand while he choked through the rest of the words, and then praised her courage and strength by offering up his own strength, and that of the entire audience, for this fighting woman. Seriously, tear ducts=tears. It’s a good thing I had tissues ready.

I know that there are many other artists who would react similarly and appropriately, but Garth just moves me to tears. The Dance is already an insanely emotional song, and the unexpected addition of Garth’s raging emotions mixed with his praiseful assessment of the strong woman before him was beyond moving. As an aging and ‘retired’ singer, Garth still pulls at my heartstrings, especially when he dedicates a moving moment at a stress-ridden and busy concert to a woman who is more than deserving.

Check out the video here. Make sure you pay close attention to the selfless gift Garth Brooks passes on. Yes, he may have enough money in the world to buy three million guitars, but that really isn’t the point here. Tear ducts. Tears. Apologies in advance.

