Tags

, , , , , , ,

An oldie, but a goodie. I was raised on Madonna, and pretty much all things eighties. This song, though, holds an extremely special place in my heart. Yes, I know the underpinnings, and I don’t necessarily think of it in that tone, but it is literally my safe place, my safe haven, my playground.

If you’ve viewed my blog on an actual browser (not in mobile view), you’ve probably noticed the swing-in-woods image header. I can still remember when I was younger, getting lost in East Frankfort park in the “wooded area” slash disc golf trails, and then pumping my legs until they ached on the swingset, passing time and winding down the endless stream of memories clouding my head. I still do that, actually. There have been times, far too infrequent, unfortunately, where I have escaped to the swingset at East Frankfort park and swung until I couldn’t do so anymore, watching as I go higher and higher, the treeline blurring in front of me, the bar at the top of the swingset passing through my line of vision again, and again. This is abyss. And, this is the only place I have been able to find it.

Even when meditating (during my too few attempts at doing so), this has been my focal image. Aubrey keeps begging for a swing set, and I don’t think she understands how much I wish I could give it to her. I really need this escape right now, and I don’t think I could even put into words how much. To feel the stress, worry, and pain ease off my body, lost in the wind, as my aching legs pump higher into the sky… maybe Aubrey and I will take a trip to the park one day soon. Until then, enjoy the eighties.

